Free shipping and processing on all orders over $100!
Cover: What Is the Rock Cycle?

This title is part of:

What Is the Rock Cycle?

Format List S/L Price Qty
$26.99 $18.95
$41.36 $28.95
Reinforced Book and Multi-User eBook $31.99 $23.95

Some of the rocks we see around us are millions of years old. Rocks don’t stay the same forever, though. Rocks are changing and becoming new rocks all the time. Inside this book, readers will follow a clear, accessible, step-by-step journey through Earth’s rock cycle. They will find out how igneous rock forms from magma following a volcanic eruption. Then they will explore how the igneous rock is eroded by rain to become sediment that eventually forms new sedimentary rock. When Earth’s crust moves, the sedimentary rock is crushed, baked, and transformed into metamorphic rock deep underground. Finally, completing the cycle, the metamorphic rock is heated and melted to once again become magma.

Filled with information perfectly suited to the abilities and interests of an early elementary audience, this colorful, fact-filled volume gives readers a chance not only to learn, but also to develop their powers of observation and critical thinking. From stunning photographs to high-interest facts, this book makes learning about Earth’s ever-changing rocks a lively, engaging experience.

Interest Level Kindergarten - Grade 3
Reading Level Grade 2
Genre High-Interest, Nonfiction
Copyright 2015
Publisher Bearport Publishing
Series Rock-ology: The Hard Facts About Rocks
Language English
Number of Pages 24
Dimensions 10 x 8
ISBN 9781627243049, 9781627243605, 9781627244169
Title Format Reinforced book, Unlimited Access eBook, Savings Bundle
Dewey 552
ATOS Reading Level 4.7
Guided Reading Level L
Lexile Reading Level 840
Scholastic Reading Counts Level 4.5
AR Quiz Number 168884
Author Ellen Lawrence
Author/Illustrator biography
Detailed maps
Glossary of key words
Table of contents
Full-color illustrations, Full-color photographs